I lost the battle against sin…..?!


I don’t know about you but I have weeks where I feel like I am literally in a boxing ring with sin. Monday I won, Tuesday I lost, Wednesday sin won, Thursday I won and so on and so on. Other weeks I know nothing can touch me. Christ died for my sins and I have been delivered and that’s it!

This week has been a week of fighting guilt and shame and condemnation. Sin seems to be getting stronger in my life, getting the upper hand. I have been delivered for crying out loud but sin seems so strong!! But it also feels like I am in an unfair battle. There is a part of me that wants to sin. It deceives me and betrays me to the enemy. I understand more and more what Paul was speaking about now. My desire is to be free, to get closer to God more and more but he betrays me. I betray me!!!

With all those things going on within me The Lord showed me something!

“For because He Himself [in His humanity] has suffered in being tempted (tested and tried), He is able [immediately] to run to the cry of (assist, relieve) those who are being tempted and tested and tried [and who therefore are being exposed to suffering]. Hebrews 2:18

Jesus came in a form of a man, was tested and tried but didn’t succumb to sin. He humbled Himself so as a High Priest He could identify with our struggles!

He understands everything we go through and I mean everything!

He doesn’t sit by and watch us in our suffering, No!! Instead He comes to our rescue.

The word says, He IMMEDIATELY runs to our cries!! He IMMEDIATELY runs to assist and relieve us.

If you need help cry out to Him! He wants to help you. He understands what you are going through. The fact is this, we are all exposed to suffering but in your suffering don’t remain silent. In my suffering I was silent and that is when guilt and shame and all those other lies penetrated me but they can’t win if you open your mouth. The enemy cannot win if you call on the One who saves!!! His love for us is so deep and cannot be fathomed. He is our Savior……Amen

Rolain

8 thoughts on “I lost the battle against sin…..?!

  1. Such a good reminder that Jesus IMMEDIATELY comes to our rescue. So encouraging, Thanks! I’ve also found that sharing my struggles with trusted friends has been a Godsend as it frees me from the lies that try to bring me down. (“Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that you may be healed”. James 5:16). God is so good! Thanks for sharing your struggle and may you triumph beyond your imagination.

    • Hi Hannah!!!
      It’s always good to hear from you. I totally agree. Having someone to share your struggles with is so freeing. Like a weight off your shoulders.
      Thanks for the reminder. Healing comes when we bring what we are struggling with to the light. The power of sin is broken when we are open about what we struggle with to our close friends!
      I appreciate the advise Hannah….God bless you.
      Rolain

  2. Thank God because He has given us His Spirit to convict us of sins. Therefore, even though we are still of the human flesh (meaning, we continue to sin), the Holy Spirit enables us to choose for Him.
    Remember, the natural state of Adam and Eve: they were created by God “able to sin” and also “able to not sin”, but they chose the earlier (they sinned). Therefore, the fallen nature of man became “not able to not sin”, meaning, we always sin. We could not choose to glorify God, we always fell short of His glory, we couldn’t reach His holy standards (Romans 3:23). But thanks be to God, through Jesus Christ, he saved us from our sins through His redemptive sacrifice on the cross. In exchange of our sinful nature, He granted us his righteousness through the Spirit, he blotted away all our transgressions. This resulted to reclaiming Adam and Eve’s original nature (“able to not sin”, but still, also “able to sin”, because we are still in the flesh). But the assurance of overcoming temptation is this, “No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.” (1 Corinthians 10:13) The Lord will provide us a way out, thanks to His Spirit who leads us in truth and in wisdom for us to know that ‘way out’. And in the future, when Jesus comes again and gives us our glorified body (abandoning the flesh), we will not sin again — not able to sin anymore. Praise the Lord for His great design for His people! I am really looking forward to that day, when we will not hurt our Father anymore, we will not sin anymore. 🙂 Take courage Rolain!

    God bless!

    • Thank you for sharing that. I will take courage and I can’t wait till the day where I will be free of sin. Where I will be able to worship God without the weight of sin haunting me…..I praise God that He is a God who forgives and He is a God who understands what we go through!!! Thank you again for the encouragement!
      Rolain

  3. I think everyone experienced what you’re going through. As long as we still live in our bodies, we will always going to be tempted to sin. If we fail, do not feel worse, down and excessive feel guilty. God is good, He will forgive, restore, and help us to win. The important thing is that we have the intention to change more better and true life.
    i like this post because you wrote with honesty. I like you, Rolain. May God bless and be with you always.

    • Hi Sella…..!!!
      Thank you for what you said. I need to be reminded about that. God does forgive and He does restore! I am so encouraged and at peace knowing that! God bless you Sella! 🙂

Leave a Reply

