The Danger of Comfort!!!


I love quotes a lot. One of my favorite quotes says,

“Ships in the harbor are safe, but that’s not what ships are built for”.

You will agree with me that this is a very popular quote. As I was thinking about it I decided to go and try and find stories of ships that were destroyed in the harbor. I couldn’t find even one story. I searched and searched with no luck. Seriously, I could not find anything. I didn’t find a headline that said, SHIP DESTROYED WHILE IN HARBOR! Nothing. Interestingly enough I found more than enough stories about ships that were destroyed out at sea. Then it hit me. We are scared to take risk at times. We prefer to be comfortable and we prefer to be safe but this is the thing, we are not made to live in the harbor. We are meant to be out there taking risks. We are meant to be stepping out like Peter in faith!!! It’s out at sea that we see God. Actually it’s where God meets us! It is out in the sea that we see the miraculous. Being in the harbor is safe and comfortable but there is no growth. Someone once said comfort breeds laziness and I think he is right. Out at sea is pain and sorrow, and fear of the unknown but better that than lazying around in the sun, thinking about what could of being and moaning over chances not taken because of fear!!!! Enough of saying, “I wish I could of” or “what would of happened if I” or “If only I”…….ENOUGH!!!!!!
You were NOT created to live in comfort and safety  but you were created to impact the world. You were created to grow and change the world around you. Amen……

Rolain