Stuttering- Triggers.


In my previous post i was discussing what i think the cure for stuttering is. I really believe that the cure is confidence. The more confident you become the less you stutter. But it is possible to be confident but still stutter. How does that happen?
This is the question that i will be dealing with in this post.
There is an answer to that question. Let me use myself as an example. I had been applying the steps i have been sharing with you, like changing how i see myself, getting rid of the labels people put on me, being a man of conviction and others. I was really seeing change. I was really excited. But as months went on i still stuttered. It was confusing not to mention frustrating. I didn’t know what to do. I didn’t know what was going on.

But then i saw it. One day i saw a pattern. There were times where i was confident and other times when i was not. Those times i was not were almost the same all the time. I could see the pattern clearly. The times i stuttered the most was when i was talking to people who had authority. God showed me that the abuse from my dad is what caused me to stutter. My dad was the authority head in the family and as a young boy i became scared of him which caused me to stutter. Fast forward a few years and i saw how i was scared of people in authority. I had no confidence in front of teachers, coaches, and bosses. I never knew how to relate to them. I could not communicate with them especially if that authority head was harsh. That was just the worst.
So picture this: I am at school and i am afraid of people in authority which in this case is my teacher and headmaster and prefect. My teacher asks me to read something which i stutter through. The teacher doesn’t understand stuttering so he ridicules me which encourages the students to also make fun of me. That is how i can describe a large chunk of what school was like for me.
But that all started because of what i experienced at home. That was a trigger and it had to dealt with.
What are your triggers? What are the things that cause you to stutter? You need to deal with them and get over them. If you are confident but you stutter then you have a trigger or triggers. It is possible to have more than one. I had two main triggers. If you need help please don’t hesitate to ask me. I will help where i can. The important thing is to confront it face on. That’s what i did. I will be writing about different ways you can do that. Some of the steps that i have written can help you. You are not alone in this.

The other trigger for me was reading. I would stutter whenever i would read. And that was because of what happened at school. People made fun of me when i would read. So when i started working i would avoid reading in public like a plague. If i did read i would stutter which solidified even more why i should not read. No one laughed straight to my face but i would think they were laughing. I was highly critical of everyone i met. In the back of my mind i would think they were all laughing at me. It was bad. And that also had to be dealt with. I am much better now. Those triggers are gone but i have work at keeping them that way. Do i fall at times, yes! There are times when i don’t apply what i have learnt. But those times are rare and getting more rare by the day.

The triggers in your life can be abolished. But it takes time and support. You can’t do this by yourself. Ask God to show you what the triggers are in your life. That is what He did for me. I had no one to help me. But God was there. And He can do the same for you. I am also here to help you.
All you have to do is ask.
I hope this post helped. If you have any questions just ask me. If you need help i will do the best that i can. If you have anything to contribute please feel free to post it. That ends my post on triggers and i look forward to hearing from you.

Rolain.P

Leave a Reply

