Stuttering- What can cure it?


I have been giving a few suggestions on what will help you stop stuttering. These suggestions are not things i made up but are things that i have tried and have seen work. I don’t stutter anymore. When i do it’s rare. I still use these principles that i am teaching you. As you now know, i believe stuttering can be stopped. I seen it in my life. And that is why i am here. When i stuttered in the past there was no one to help me. I was made fun of by people who didn’t understand. But i want to change that. I want you to know that you are not alone in this. There are people who understand what you going through. There is a way.

I have also realised that i have not told you what i believe the cure is. I have been giving you suggestions on how you can stop but i have never actually told you what the cure is. So in this post i will be addressing that.
I was physically abused as a child. That had an affect on my speech. I have been a stutterer as long as i can remember. And it wasn’t easy. By the end of it all i had no self-esteem. My confidence had been destroyed, totally! But God intervened and helped me. If it wasn’t for His help i don’t know where i would be today.

Down the years i realised how there was a direct correlation between my self-esteem and my improvement! The more confident i became in who i was the less i stuttered. My confidence grew and grew until i stopped stuttering completely! I couldn’t believe it. And that is what i believe the cure is- having confidence and a high self-esteem.
It’s having a confidence in who you are and having a confidence in who God says you are. Do you know who you are in God? Do you know what He says about you? These are all important questions that need to be answered. There is a story in the word that backs up what i am saying. That story is in Exodus and it’s about Moses. It’s believed that he stuttered. (Exo 4:10)

God then sends him his brother Aaron to speak on his behalf because Moses can’t see fluency. All he sees is his speech impendment. Maybe he had been ridiculed by his friends. Maybe he had been told what a wierdo he was because of the way he spoke. Maybe he had tore himself down so much because of it. But whatever the reason, it made him just see stuttering. Even when God assured him He would be with him he still said no.
(And the Lord said to him, Who has made man’s mouth? Or who makes the dumb, or the deaf, or the seeing, or the blind? Is it not I, the Lord?
Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth and will teach you what you shall say.
And he said, Oh, my Lord, i pray You, send by the hand of [some other] whom You will [send].
Then the anger of the Lord blazed against Moses; He said, Is there not Aaron your brother, the Levite? I know he can speak well. Also, he is coming out to meet you, and when he sees you, he will be overjoyed. Exo 4:11-14)

Is that the way you see as well? Do you just see stuttering? People may be telling you how much potential you have and the things you going to do but all you see is stuttering! That needs to change.
Anyway let’s move on. Aaron is now speaking on behalf of his brother Moses. Moses tells him what to say and Aaron then speaks. That was the arrangement.
But then we see a change. In exodus 8:9 we see Moses speaking to Pharoah! We also see a change in the way things are supposed to be.
In Exodus 7:19 it reads; And the Lord said to Moses, say to Aaron, Take your rod and stretch out your hand over the waters of Egypt,
This is the way things are supposed to be, this is the arrangement. Nothing wrong with that right. But the change comes one verse later.
In Exodus 8:1 it reads; Then the Lord said to Moses, Go to Pharoah and say to him, Thus says the Lord, Let My people go, that they may serve Me.
Did you see that? God tells Moses to talk to Pharoah instead of telling Aaron to go and speak. Then later on in the chapter we read:
Moses said to Pharoah, Glory over me in this; dictate when I shall pray [to the Lord] for you, your servants, and your people, that the frogs may be destroyed from you and your houses and remain only in the river. Exodus 8:9

Moses is now speaking to Pharoah directly! What has changed? I believe Moses came to a realisation that God was true to His word. I believe Moses was confident because he finally believed what God said about him.
I believe our confidence comes from knowing who we are in God. Can you apply this if don’t know Christ? I don’t know the answer to that question. The steps i write about can be used by anyone i guess. They are very practical steps anyone can use. So if you don’t believe in God and you struggle with stuttering, you can still use the steps. But my desire is that you come to know God. He is the Saviour of the world. He is the One that saved me. Without Him i would not be where i am today. And i want you to know that He does care about you. You just have to invite Him into your life.

So that is what i believe about stuttering. Confidence is the answer. It is the cure, or can i say it helps in the process of being cured. One thing i don’t want you to be is narrow minded when it comes to the cure. This is what has worked for me. Something else may have worked for someone else. It’s just a matter of time before you find out other ways. I know for a fact that there are people who have stopped stuttering. You just have to find them out. For now i encourage you to apply the principles i am still going to teach you. Use the ways i talk about. They will make a difference in your life. Remember and never forget that stuttering is not for life.

Rolain.P

Leave a Reply

